Easter at Cannizaro Park

April 25, 2011

Its one of my favourite parts of London and at this time of year the blooms are out in full.

I love walking around Cannizaro Park and the weather this Easter has been perfect, rather than joining the motorway madness as the masses head for the beaches I just pop up here for an hour or two and it feels the same as a day in the countryside.

Friends Of Cannizaro is a non profit organisation that cares for the park throughout the year, they always welcome new members who appreciate the gardens to their fold.

The park is set on hillside and as you wander around there is everything from Pine trees at the top of the hill, through rhodedendron glades in the middle to primeval swamp ferns and huge green triffid style plants at the bottom.

Best of all its completely free. The attached Cannizaro Hotel does a great tea on the terrace too but there’s always an ice cream van out the front for those on a budget. I regard it as my own personal Stately Home from home, I know the grounds so well now!

There are masses of bluebells at Cannizaro, so beautiful.

There are masses of bluebells at Cannizaro, so beautiful.

The ferns are unfurling at Cannizaro Park London

The ferns are unfurling at Cannizaro Park

Wonderful vistas of colour upon colour on sloping ground at Cannizaro Park in April 2011

Wonderful vistas of colour upon colour on sloping ground at Cannizaro Park

Wafts of jasmine as you pass strange trees in the landscape from the towering bushes at Cannizaro Park

Wafts of jasmine as you pass strange trees in the landscape from the towering bushes

The mighty rhodedendron bushes are blooming too at Cannizaro Park

The mighty rhodedendron bushes are blooming too

Beautiful washes of colour are throughout the park

Beautiful washes of colour are throughout the park

Photos by Smudgetikka – all rights reserved

5 Responses to “Easter at Cannizaro Park”

  1. jarna Says:

    How lovely pics! Beatyful spring!
    Greetings from Finland=)


  2. These photographs are beautiful. It all looks lovely. Bluebells will always remind me of England.

    • smudgetikka Says:

      It is perfect there at the moment but I don’t remember the bluebells out the same time as so many of the bushes last year. very strange weather at the moment, it is like summer.

  3. Chantale Says:

    GORGEOUS photography! What a beautiful place.. I only wish all the beautiful blooms and trees didn’t make me sneeze and be miserable so.. : )

    • smudgetikka Says:

      Thank you, I know as a fellow sufferer I sympathise but I am on a pill a day and it keeps the Hay fever just enough under control for me to enjoy the blooms.


Leave a comment